Cuisine of India

Golgappas – Don’t Miss it!


Now, this was something I always wanted to write about. And why not? I have a food section in my blog and this is the favourite of millions of people. So what if people doubt about the hygiene factor? It is still loved by one and all! It is the yummy golgappas!

The round balls made out of suji and aatta that are filled with a bit of boiled potatoes and dipped into green golgappa ka pani and tamarind chutney are just irresistible! Every evening mummies with their little kids or a group of friends can be seen gorging on these delicious golgappas at the roadside vendor’s stall. College students just love it. It is best for them to enjoy a small and inexpensive party. The best part is that they will definitely complain about how unhygenic these golgappas are but still not leave it.

As kids, we were never allowed to eat golgappas outside for the very same reason. Even our parents stayed away from it. At the most, my father would bring in a packet of golgappas. It had fifty of them and packet of powder that was to be mixed with water to make the golgappa pani. It tasted wonderful but it never is that enjoyable to eat golgappas at home as it is at a roadside vendor’s stall. So, as we grew up, things changed a lot and now not only do we enjoy eating it, we specially go out for a golgappa parties.

The vendor who sells golgappas at our society gate has become our favourite now. My friends drop in frequently to enjoy a plate of golgappas. So much so that other people in the society have started noticing me there. The other day, even a kid said to my mother, ‘didi to bahut golgappa khati hai!’. I just couldn’t stop smiling at this.

Now a days, food courts at big malls have started serving golgappas, so all those people concerned about cleanliness have an option to enjoy this tasty snack while at the same time not worry about falling ill.

If you still shy away from golgappas, you are definitely missing out something special. My advice would be, leave you concerns behind and enjoy this snack. It is yummy!

About harshitaindia

None

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Golgappas – Don’t Miss it!

  1. What a mouth-watering topic, Harshita ji!
    Gol-gappas! I used to buy them four for four-annas…but that was another life!
    Thanks for this tasty but a little nostalgic treat.

    Bye-Bye,
    Gorakh Nath.

    Posted by Gorakh Nath | July 22, 2010, 6:11 am
    • Hi Gorakh,

      Thanks for checking out my blog and liking my posts. I really appreciate it and will look forward to more feedback & comment from your end. And Gol gappas definitely are mouth watering.

      Posted by harshitaindia | July 27, 2010, 4:44 am
  2. Aha, Harshita Ji…
    Definitely not from the India I know. I guess the Golgappas must have misled me. I do like your posts Harshita Ji – but if not when alive, at least now when I am dead, I were called by my full name, I’d appreciate it a lot.
    Bye-bye,
    Gorakh Nath.

    Posted by Gorakh Nath | July 30, 2010, 7:31 am

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

