Cuisine of India

Indian Food


India is a country where people love food.  Go to any corner of the country and you will find something very different to taste.  Food, in India, is not just meant to fill your  stomach. They are supposed to fill your heart with warmth. That is why guests in this country are lavishly served the best of eatables when they visit someone’s place.  Serving good food is considered important to make the visitor feel special. 

Moreover, the best of the occasions – be its festivals, marriages, birthdays –  are also times when most delicious of dishes roll out from the Indian kitchen. The excitement that goes into finalising the menu corroborates this fact.

In my future postings, you will find details of various dishes that have enriched Indian cuisine, but right now, let’s just catch a glimpse of some lip smacking dishes of India. 

Masala dosa

Choley Bathure

Gulab Jamuns<> 

Kaju Barfi

About harshitaindia

None

Discussion

7 thoughts on “Indian Food

  1. Dear Harshita,

    Who ate the half of Gulab Jamun? 🙂

    It is true that Indian gastronomical taste changes like human thoughts. Food in India is not just palate sensation but also become an integral culture of India. That’s the diversity of India! Everything is different still mix so well.

    I am not much a “foodholic” still I’m looking forward to your coming posts.

    By the way, I like your blog because of its simplicity but charms of India wants little more attention. I know in near future it will be a great enjoyable platform for you.

    Affectionately,
    Shubhajit

    Posted by shubhajit | June 23, 2009, 12:14 pm
    • Hi Shubhajit

      Nice to see that you check out my blog regularly. I really appreciate it. Do you mean I need to give more time to charms of India? If yes, you are right. It’s true that charms of India little more attention. I have not been able to devote as much time to the blog as I would like to but you will definitely find regular postings from now. Hope you will check them out too.

      If you meant something else, pls let me know

      By the way, I am looking for the person who ate half of the gulab jamun. But still it is looking delicious. Right?

      Posted by harshitaindia | June 25, 2009, 12:59 pm
  2. Hi,

    There are two ways to look at it. If we are doing anything professionally we must see only business, there is no scope of sentimentalism or passion in that. Because business means money and money has no resultant and without resultant what I can see.So forget about all those jargon – “I am doing this because I love it”. Put off! We have to do only simple raw hard work! Irrespective of our like or dislike, we have to post, promote and give a shot!

    There are already numerous insignificant “professional bloggers” like us who are trying to stand on their feet in this web world. You are much much learned professional than me so it would be a tomfoolery to explain the nuances of web world to you.

    Second type of writing is to write for writing’s sake. It’s just come to you automatically.It is obviously much superior to the previous one because it has that depth, that calmness. No hitch, no cry.

    It is not always possible to write from your heart for travel unless you are a wanderer. So, take a middle path, post quality articles and simultaneously promote the blog without much exaggeration. Some of your previous offshoot posts like movie reviews, photographs are very pleasing. ‘Charms of India’ can incorporate everything, not only travel but various aspects of India (past, present future), social, cultural, religion, spiritual, contemporary, books, writers, films, politics and what not!

    I always maintain that I must understand the whole article and then comment. So, sometimes I can’t give comment to many blogs. But I will try to read every post of yours.

    Always,
    Shubhajit

    Posted by shubhajit | June 27, 2009, 2:52 pm
    • Hi Shubhajit,

      Thanks for that piece of advice. However, this is definitely not a blog meant to promote any business or site. This is a blog where I will write what I want to write about and not what is required to be written by professionals. If you have been through my blog, you will not find any kind of commercialization that has been done. This is also a reason why you will not find too many posts till now.

      However, since India has so many charms, I have decided to increase the number of posts, but I will be careful not to write just about anything. But yes, you are right, Charms of India can incorporate a whole lot of topics, right from social, cultural, spiritual books and many more.

      Posted by harshitaindia | June 29, 2009, 4:15 am
  3. Stumbled upon this blog on Indian food. Good one, but you haven’t added any further posts on the subject.

    India has a great gastronomical traditions yet our food habits are undergoing tectonic changes. I have written about it in my blog http://chapter18.wordpress.com/2010/02/09/pasta-for-breakfast-chowmein-for-lunch/

    Regards
    Narayanan

    Posted by chapter18 | March 29, 2010, 11:07 pm
  4. hi,

    Thanks for checking out my blog. Yes, I have not written anything on Indian food lately, but be sure my next post is going to be on food. After all, India has so many delicious cuisines to talk about!

    Do check out my posts in near future for updates.

    Posted by harshitaindia | March 30, 2010, 4:10 am
  5. Hi Harshita,

    I chanced upon your blog through a wordpress search on food. You are right – food charms Indians like nothing else, and the variety of our food charms everyone else:)

    I like your posts and will likely return for more.

    Bye-Bye
    Gorakh Nath

    Posted by Gorakh Nath | July 22, 2010, 6:05 am

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

