Travel

My Visit to Mumbai – The Dream City


It is not amongst the most beautiful cities of India. It is not even a place where life is relaxed, yet Mumbai attracts people like no other city of India.  Mumbai is both the commercial and entertainment hub of India.  It is the dream city to which people come from all parts of the country to fulfil their dreams of becoming ‘successful, famous and rich’.

My own visit to Mumbai, though it had nothing to do with becoming successful, was full of anticipation. I was visiting my sister and expected to stay there for sometime. My expectation from Mumbai, like many others were sky high. However, I felt them crumbling down the moment I stepped out of the station. Nowhere could I see even the faintest glimpse of the image I had in mind of Mumbai. Being from Delhi, the metropolitan look that I was hoping to see of Mumbai was grossly missing. The roads were narrow and the crowd sometimes became too much to handle. All through my way from station to home, I constantly peeped out of the three wheeler to see the Mumbai of my dreams, but all in vain.

Fortunately, my disappointment from Mumbai ended very soon.  Mumbai had so much to offer that the ‘look aspect’ really took a back seat in few days. Along with my sister,  I paid a visit to the Gateway of India and took a ride in the ferry. The ferry, we thought, would take us to the famous Elephanta caves, but it never did. Not the fault of ferry wala though because we heard things wrong.  The ferry was just supposed to take a round on the sea and come back. Even then, I enjoyed myself a lot and this piece of misunderstanding continued as a joke for the next hour or so between the both of us.

gateway-of-india-3.jpg

I also paid a visit to Juhu beach and quiet a few lesser known beaches. Juhu was all lighted up and glittered beautifully in the evening. The surrounding was vibrant - the foodsstalls were full, the vendors were going around showcasing their items and the photographer were busy spotting and clicking tourists. We also played in water, felt the sand slipping from below our feet and got ourselves clicked.Visits to the Mahalaxmi Temple, Haji Ali, Marine Drive followed and made me more than happy. I could now see the religious as well as modern side of Mumbai. It was as if slowly Mumbai had started revealing its treasures to ward off my initial discontentment. 

haji-ali.jpg

Shopping was next on our list. We visited both small and big shopping centres in close vicinity and bought lots of items. The prices were reasonable and the variety, good. I really had to supress my laughter everytime the salesman described his clothes as ‘mast’. The statement invariably went like this, “ekdum mast lag raha madam, le lijiye”. It was very difficult for me stop my laughter initially and quiet a few times, I actually  burst out right there leaving them a bit embarassed sometimes and dumbfounded at others.

What I most enjoyed during my stay in Mumbai was the rains. Never before had I  seen rainfall for 3 – 4  consecutive days with very little interval. It was true that I just couldn’t go out anywehere because of the rains but just watching the rainfall for so long was immensely enjoyable for me. Another thing which I enjoyed was travelling in local train. I anyhow will not advise anyone to travel during peak hours, viz, during office hours because the rush at this point of time is just too much for anyone not used to it. You really need lots of alacrity, patience and practice to travel during these hours. For the rest of the day, the crowd is manageable.

Travelling by train gave me a first hand idea of life of the people in Mumbai. For them, local trains are a lifeline. Without these trains, life in Mumbai becomes crippled and I witnessed that myself when heavy rains seriously affected the running of trains and large number of people got stranded where they were.

mumbai-trains.jpg

Thankfully, the situation improved very soon and life got back to its normal self. Mumbai, after all, is known for its resilience and under no circumstance does it goes down. Infact, such a situation saw complete strangers coming together to bail out each other from difficult situations. I realised that it is this spirit of Mumbai that keeps it going despite all odds

There were various other aspect of Mumbai that came to my notice during my stay in Mumbai. I wished to explore Mumbai more but had to cut short my trip because of certain reasons. I was surprised that I was feeling bad to leave a city which I did not like initially. Also, I knew I had to come back to know and understand Mumbai more. I had come to Mumbai and was leaving with an anticipation. This is Mumbai, a city that never fails to charm an incoming visitor. 

 

About harshitaindia

None

Discussion

22 thoughts on “My Visit to Mumbai – The Dream City

  1. Mumbai though is said to be the city of aspirants, dreams and don’t know wat all. Bt somehow it has never appealed me much as a tourist destination. The reason for this is that i find Mumbai very superficial, n thinks that it takes away more than it gives. ur blog is informative though.

    Posted by deepika | July 18, 2007, 8:36 am
  2. It is true that life in Mumbai is very hard for a common person. To an extent, it is also true that Mumbai’s appeal largely lies in it being able to fulfil the dreams of the youth of the country. However, it is not completely right to say that Mumbai does not appeal to tourists. There are a whole lot of things to see and do. You just need to discover them.

    Posted by Harshita | July 18, 2007, 8:52 am
  3. Call it “City of dreams”, “Commercial Capital of India”, “Home of World Famous Bollywood”, Mumbai is equally charming by any of the mentioned names. You have shared your good as well as bad experiences in this blog. We know every place has its positive and negative points. It’s true that streets of Mumbai are narrow, water logging is common probles during rains and there are several negative aspects, but we can’t neglect the fact that it provides shelter to crores of Indian people. It’s good that you understood Mumbai later. By the way had you enjoyed Mumbai’s popular “Bhel puri”, or “Pav Bhaji” or not?

    Posted by md mudassir alam | July 18, 2007, 1:29 pm
  4. hmmmmmm, i wud certainly go by ur advice 2 register my visit 2 Mumbai again. d first experience ws nt vry gud, lemme see wat d second escapade brings 4 me.

    Posted by deepika | July 19, 2007, 10:06 am
  5. I agree that every city has its good and bad points as mentioned by you. It is all the more in big cities like Mumbai which has a large population. As for eatables, I enjoyed eating Vada Pao. Nobody can perhaps come back from Mumbai without tasting it. It is delicious………

    Posted by harshitaindia | July 26, 2007, 12:58 pm
  6. EK dum mast….write up hain….

    Mumbai is always seen as the glamourous city harbouring models and stars (as in actors) but the city cannot be compared with other metros.

    As said by Harshita every city has it prons and cons but that shouldn’t stop any one to explore it.

    Posted by Manjari | July 28, 2007, 7:47 am
  7. My perception differs with yours. I visited the city in May, 2006. But I found it too much densely populated, almost chaotic. This city needs some breething space. It’s better to visit any secluded tourist spot in Deccan. Don’t you agree?

    Posted by Yamada Kurasowa | July 28, 2007, 8:13 am
  8. Deccan can be good idea if you are looking for a quiet holiday. In that case Mumbai can really be quiet a disappointment. However, if you are not looking for a quiet holiday, then Mumbai is definitely worth a visit.

    Posted by harshitaindia | July 30, 2007, 6:16 am
  9. before visiting any place, one needs to have complete information of what they are about to face there, be it good or bad. n ur article is absolutely wonderful that way. To be honest, i didn’t like the role of rain a bit. If rain wasn’t there, we could have had the opportunity of knowing more of mumbai from your article…..

    Posted by Srikant | August 4, 2007, 12:55 pm
  10. I thank u for relating us to the realties of Mumbai. Normally, it is found that a writer just talks about the good aspects of a place and seldom writes about the nuances because of the fear that his comments might just demote the site instead of promoting it. So, bravo to u. However, Mumbai is my dream city and I would like to experience ‘stay in Mumbai’, no matter, whatever be the odds.

    Posted by Pankaj | August 6, 2007, 4:46 am
  11. crispy language with equally impressive narration. displying both sides of the city makes it more readable piece.

    Posted by Shubhajit Chakraborty | August 9, 2007, 1:09 pm
  12. My friends who r in Mumbai always says to me that not to come Mumbai…The life in Mumbai is very hard and hectic.. But your wonderful article about Mumbai forced me to visit this place…mentioned as, there are a lot of things to see….

    Posted by Maya | August 10, 2007, 6:26 am
  13. Hi there nice blog, atleast I have a new blog to check out about my favourite leader, M.K. Gandhi, i remember saving my allowances back when i was a kid just to buy a book on Ganhiji.

    Posted by Heintje | August 19, 2007, 2:06 am
  14. Good information about the city of Mumbai, Harshita you have nicely described your personal experience in the blog. Me too have visited Mumbai many times and found the city very charming. It reminded me of the period when India was under the rule of British.

    Posted by Keith Hudson | September 3, 2007, 12:08 pm
  15. That was really nice!! It helped my alot on my essay : the city of my dreams – mumbai!! THANX!

    Posted by Mikhail Cazi | December 11, 2009, 12:31 pm
  16. mumbai dream city sapno ka shar yahan har koi apni amiyat jaan sakta hai par khud ki aamiyet jaane se pehli hi log hame thokar mar dete hai………lekin hame mauka dundana hailadna hai , un logo se nahi , unke khayalo se, unke manyatao se……hamare desh mai experiance ko jayada importance de jate hai, hum kahi par bhi jate hai toh log ham se ye puchte hai ki kitne saal ka experiance hai woh nayi soch ko koi importance hi nahi dena chahate……. aur aage business karna bahut mushkal hoga………….

    Posted by Bhawna Rawat | June 27, 2011, 5:15 am
  17. dis is gr8 thanz a lot!!!!

    Posted by vastavikta dhar | November 25, 2011, 12:52 am
  18. mumbai is very very beautiful city and it is selfless city i found in mumbai that cleanness and many things that i not found in any other city.i am always coming in mumbai in chirstmas thie time also i wil come to meet hero heroines and whenever i am coming in mumbai i am thinking that icame in dream world.i am always going to all beach i love veryyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy much

    Posted by ankita on 15 december 10:04 | December 15, 2011, 5:00 pm
  19. u made my assgnment easyy thnkss:::DDDD

    Posted by abdul qadeer | December 11, 2012, 5:54 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: A Visit to Akshardham Temple in Delhi « Charms of India - February 8, 2010

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

